Our Latest News

Bruny Island Neck reopen following major redevelopment

12/12/2018

Bruny Island tourism icon, The Neck, has reopened following a major redevelopment and improvement to the visitor facilities at the popular site.
More

Fairbrother wins contract for Cradle Mountain Gateway Precinct

12/12/2018

A key milestone in the implementation of the Cradle Mountain Master Plan project has been reached with Tasmanian construction company Fairbrother awarded a $12 million contract for work on the Cradle Mountain Visitor Gateway Precinct.More

Milkshakes Hill Regional Reserve reopened

26/11/2018

The Tarkine Drive visitor experience has been further enhanced with the reopening of the Milkshake Hills Regional Reserve.
More

History unlocked at Richmond Gaol

12/11/2018

Investment in the restoration of the Gaoler’s House at Richmond Gaol will enhance the visitor experience at one of Tasmania’s key historic sites.


The House, open to the public for the first time, provides visitors to Richmond Gaol a further insight into our rich history.


The $200,000 project was funded by the Tourism Infrastructure in Parks program and was part of a series of works undertaken at the heritage site.


The restoration of the Gaoler’s House included major structural work, stripping out modern-day fittings and renovations, and exposing sections of historic wall surfaces and coverings.


The Richmond Gaol Historic Site is one of the oldest intact convict sites in Australia. Between 1825 and 1861 it operated as a place of confinement for short-term prisoners and those undergoing judicial punishment, as well as temporarily housing convicts moving through the Richmond District.