Our Latest News

Easter safety is paramount for our parks and reserves

18/04/2019

The Parks and Wildlife Service encourages visitors and Tasmanians alike to get outdoors and get active - especially in our parks and reserves.More

Good news, Hartz Mountain National Park and other tracks are open!

17/04/2019

In time for Easter walking, PWS have been able to re-open a number of tracks.More

New Mt Mawson Shelter officially opened ahead of ski season

29/03/2019

The new Mt Mawson Public Shelter was today officially opened and will provide a new level of amenity for southern Tasmania's only ski field, as well as upgraded facilities for bushwalkers heading to the iconic Tarn Shelf walk in Mt Field National Park.More

Toll House

History

In 1834 a company was formed to build the first bridge across the Derwent River. However, it wasn’t until 1840 that work got underway with Governor Franklin present to witness the first post being installed. Work was completed a year later.  The toll house was built at the same time, in order to collect charges from all using the bridge. The money went towards paying for its construction. 

Although the bridge has since been replaced, the original cottage still stands.  It is a one-storey, octagonal building and has been used for a variety of purposes over time.  Toll money was collected until 1874. Since then it has been vacant, used as a youth hostel, and is currently used as a centre for Tasmanian arts and crafts.  It was declared an historic site in 1961.

 

Toll House - early view showing the New Norfolk bridge