Frankland Range
Frankland Range (photograph: Dan Broun)
World Heritage Area logo

World Heritage Areas
(in Tasmanian parks)

Find out more


​The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization ​(UNESCO) encourages the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage sites around the world, that are considered of outstanding value to humanity.

Sites inscribed on the UNESCO ​​World Heritage List​ possess a considerable diversity of features which are of outstanding universal significance.​

National park

A valid parks pass is required for entry to Tasmania's national parks.
Choose from a range of pass options to best meet your needs.

Get your parks pass

​A number of Tasmanian sites have been approved as World Heritage Areas, with examples of natural or cultural significance ​that includes unique convict heritage, islands of outstanding geological significance, and ​​​one of the largest temperate natural areas in the world.​

​​The Tasmania Parks and Wildlife Service (PWS) is responsible for the sustainable management of​ the following World Heritage Areas​: