Our Latest News

Easter safety is paramount for our parks and reserves

18/04/2019

The Parks and Wildlife Service encourages visitors and Tasmanians alike to get outdoors and get active - especially in our parks and reserves.More

Good news, Hartz Mountain National Park and other tracks are open!

17/04/2019

In time for Easter walking, PWS have been able to re-open a number of tracks.More

New Mt Mawson Shelter officially opened ahead of ski season

29/03/2019

The new Mt Mawson Public Shelter was today officially opened and will provide a new level of amenity for southern Tasmania's only ski field, as well as upgraded facilities for bushwalkers heading to the iconic Tarn Shelf walk in Mt Field National Park.More

Low Head Light Station and Pilot Station

Introduction

Constructed in 1833, the Low Head Light Station was the third to be established in Australia and has operated continuously for over 170 years. It was Australia's oldest manned lightstation until recently, when automation was introduced.

The Low Head precinct includes a great diversity of 19th century maritime buildings, many of which remain remarkably intact. The Low Head Pilot Station comprise the earliest surviving pilot buildings in Australia.

The Low Head Light and Pilot stations played an invaluable role in the establishment of ensuring the safe passage of vessels from Bass Strait into the mouth of the Tamar river.