Our Latest News

Liffey Falls open to visitors

23/06/2017

The iconic Liffey Falls picnic area and walking track is now open to the public following the completion of repairs to visitor facilities after flood damage last year.More

Upgrades for Lake St Clair

23/06/2017

The viewing platform on the shore of Lake St Clair is being upgraded to improve disability access to one of the finest vistas of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area.More

Upgrade for Wineglass Bay Track

15/05/2017

Freycinet is the State's most visited national park, with 286,000 visitors in 2016, with about 34 per cent of visitors to Freycinet walking to the Wineglass Bay beach.More

Waldheim Chalet

Introduction

Waldheim in the winter of 2007

Waldheim in the winter of 2007
(Photo by Ben Hill)

Waldheim Chalet provides visitors with an insight into the early history of the Cradle Mountain area and the people who played a pivotal role in the establishment of the Cradle Mountain - Lake St Clair National Park. Gustav and Kate Weindorfer built the rustic home and guest chalet in 1912, naming it Waldheim, meaning "forest home".

Waldheim Chalet continued to be used for accommodation until 1974, when it became clear that the chalet was becoming structurally unsound. In 1976 Waldheim was demolished. The replica, rebuilt in 1976 using traditional bush carpentry techniques, is made from shingles split from King Billy pine, and is an accurate reconstruction of the chalet as it had appeared at the time of Gustav's death in 1932.

Waldheim is no longer used for accommodation, although the nearby Waldheim cabins offer accommodation. A visual and audio display inside Waldheim details the rich history of the chalet and the colourful lives of Gustav and Kate Weindorfer.