Our Latest News

Liffey Falls open to visitors

23/06/2017

The iconic Liffey Falls picnic area and walking track is now open to the public following the completion of repairs to visitor facilities after flood damage last year.More

Upgrades for Lake St Clair

23/06/2017

The viewing platform on the shore of Lake St Clair is being upgraded to improve disability access to one of the finest vistas of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area.More

Upgrade for Wineglass Bay Track

15/05/2017

Freycinet is the State's most visited national park, with 286,000 visitors in 2016, with about 34 per cent of visitors to Freycinet walking to the Wineglass Bay beach.More

Kangaroo Bluff Battery

Introduction

Non-commissioned officers of the Southern Tasmanian Artillery

Non-commissioned officers of the
Southern Tasmanian Artillery

From the time of the first official white settlement of the Derwent at Risdon Cove in 1803, there was concern over the possibility of attack by sea. By 1836, it was thought that mutually supporting batteries on both sides of the Derwent could turn Hobart Town into a fortress. Kangaroo Point, with its steep bluff, was an ideal site located on the eastern shore.

At the close of 1840, arrangements were made to purchase the land. However, it took almost forty years of re-cast plans, financial delays and further land purchases before excavations commenced.

The Kangaroo Bluff site was built to support the Queens Battery (located at the Domain in Hobart) and the Battery Point battery.