Our Latest News

Celebrating the achievements of landcarers

04/12/2017

The Tamar Island Wetland Cares Volunteer Group has been recognised in the 2017 Landcare Tasmania Awards.More

Horsetail Falls walk now open

15/11/2017

Visitors to the West Coast are in for some spectacular views on the new Horsetail Falls walk near Queenstown.More

Bruny Island Neck lookout re-opens

10/11/2017

The walkways and lookout at the Bruny Island Neck will re-open to the public today, following the completion of a new, larger car park that will provide improved access to the popular lookout.More

Freycinet

Introduction

easter Campout of Tasmanian Field Naturalists, 1910

The 1910 Freycinet Easter camp-out
of the Tasmanian Field Naturalists
(Archives Office of Tasmania)

Whaling parties, tin and coal miners and pastoralists are amongst those who have lived and worked on the Freycinet Peninsula since the early years of European settlement. Old mine shafts, abandoned farmers' huts and the remains of whalers' camps today form part of the rich cultural heritage of the park.

The majestic beauty of Freycinet's granite mountains and white, sandy beaches have also long been admired by naturalists, artists and writers. the area was reserved as a national park in 1916, making it (along with Mt Field) the oldest national park in Tasmania.

Don't miss the opportunity to stop in at Freycinet National Park. Further information for visitors can be found at our Visitors Guide to Tasmania's National Parks.