Our Latest News

Liffey Falls open to visitors

23/06/2017

The iconic Liffey Falls picnic area and walking track is now open to the public following the completion of repairs to visitor facilities after flood damage last year.More

Upgrades for Lake St Clair

23/06/2017

The viewing platform on the shore of Lake St Clair is being upgraded to improve disability access to one of the finest vistas of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area.More

Upgrade for Wineglass Bay Track

15/05/2017

Freycinet is the State's most visited national park, with 286,000 visitors in 2016, with about 34 per cent of visitors to Freycinet walking to the Wineglass Bay beach.More

Adamsfield

Introduction

The rudimentary equipment of the early miners of Adamsfield (Photo by Steve Johnson)
Adamsfield was once a thriving osmiridium mining settlement with a population of more than 1000 people in Tasmania’s remote south-west. Today there is little left of this once booming town apart from a quiet valley with scattered relics, which are gradually being reclaimed by the bush.

Although remote, the historic settlement can be visited by foot from Clear Hill Road or by 4WD along the Adamsfield Track.  

The Adamsfield Conservation Area is part of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area.