Our Latest News

Liffey Falls open to visitors

23/06/2017

The iconic Liffey Falls picnic area and walking track is now open to the public following the completion of repairs to visitor facilities after flood damage last year.More

Upgrades for Lake St Clair

23/06/2017

The viewing platform on the shore of Lake St Clair is being upgraded to improve disability access to one of the finest vistas of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area.More

Upgrade for Wineglass Bay Track

15/05/2017

Freycinet is the State's most visited national park, with 286,000 visitors in 2016, with about 34 per cent of visitors to Freycinet walking to the Wineglass Bay beach.More

Strzelecki National Park

Introduction

Strzelecki Icon

Strzelecki National Park covers 4216 hectares in the south-western corner of Flinders Island. Flinders is the main island in the Furneaux Group, a group of 54 islands in Bass Strait off the north-east coast of mainland Tasmania.

The national park protects rich and varied ecosystems as well as spectacular coastal and granite mountain landscapes. Strzelecki forms an area where plant and animal species found on mainland Australia and Tasmania overlap, making the park of important biogeographic significance. The park is also home to a high number of endemic species, rare flora and fauna and significant vegetation communities.

The park was proclaimed in 1967 and given the official name of Strzelecki National Park in 1972, in honour of the Polish scientist and explorer Count Paul Edmund Strzelecki, who climbed a number of the mountain peaks on Flinders Island in 1842.