Our Latest News

Horsetail Falls walk now open

15/11/2017

Visitors to the West Coast are in for some spectacular views on the new Horsetail Falls walk near Queenstown.More

Bruny Island Neck lookout re-opens

10/11/2017

The walkways and lookout at the Bruny Island Neck will re-open to the public today, following the completion of a new, larger car park that will provide improved access to the popular lookout.More

Maintaining vigilance with campfires

03/11/2017

Parks and Wildlife Service staff have thanked the many campers who have heeded the restrictions placed on campfires and pot fires, but ask that park and reserve visitors continue to take care while the fire risk remains high in certain areas of the State.More

Aboriginal Heritage

Encounters

Aboriginal bark huts, as depicted during the Baudin voyage
Aboriginals have been in Tasmania for at least 35,000 years. The first European explorer to discover Tasmania, and subsequently name it Van Diemen’s Land, was Abel Janszoon Tasman, in 1642. He did not record any encounters with Aboriginals. It is possible that his journey was noticed by many tribes as he passed through their ‘country’, but as there are no ethnographic records from an Aboriginal perspective for this time, it is impossible to know for sure. Imagine seeing something for the first time, especially something which was so foreign in its very nature.

Other visitors to ‘Tasmania’ prior to British settlement include Marc-Joseph Marion du Fresne in 1772, Captain James Cook in 1777, Bruni d’Entrecasteaux 1792-93 and Nicolas Baudin in 1802. Some of these explorers recorded interactions with the Aboriginals and the exchange of ‘tokens’; others did not see any Aboriginals but witnessed fires burning along the coast. Of the interactions there was at least one incident which resulted in injury and fatality.

For more information in relation to Aboriginal heritage within Tasmania see the Aboriginal Heritage Tasmania website: www.aboriginalheritage.tas.gov.au